The Law of Gratitude

My take on the “Law of Gratitude” anyhow, which, in all ironic honesty – I didn’t know is a Cosmic Law until I typed the title about two minutes ago and felt a bit grandiose…Today, I am grateful for Google and Wikipedia.

If you’ll remember from last week’s post, I mentioned how my path to enlightenment, happiness, and fulfillment began with the creation of a Gratitude List. For most of my life, I had been a glass is half-empty kind of gal; and as you well know, that just isn’t any fun. Sardonic wit and dry humor aside, it really isn’t any fun. And prior to creating the Gratitude List (insert unicorns, rainbows, and angelic singing here), I was knee-deep in the antithesis of Satori: the dreaded mid-life crisis (although, being 33 I’m hopeful I’m just melodramatic). But I digress…

A series of mundane and unfortunate events had led me to the point of wondering if I was up to the task of a ‘normal’ life any more – and how exactly I would extricate myself from The Doldrums. Having become for the first time increasingly uncomfortable with myself in my life; and afraid of what my escape hatch might look like – I began to step out of my comfort zone and accept any and all offers for help and support. This was an important agreement I made with myself, as I realized my Comfort Zone wasn’t getting or keeping me comfy or cozy – rather, my Comfort Zone was making me want to curl up in a fetal position.

Check in with yourself RIGHT now:

How supportive is your Comfort Zone in life? Are you loving yourself, your life, and feeling abundance?

let me know @AscendantTara, or drop a comment. I am very interested in YOU.

Shortly after taking those first steps from that shelter, and keeping that commitment to myself to accept help and support in all its forms, I began to feel bolstered, stronger. The shift was in its beginning stages, without being so prominent for me to notice. In allowing others to support me, I actually felt strengthened. And, dare I say, bold. It’s no easy thing to take those first steps…

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom” ~ Anais Nin

And so, it was, for the first time in a while, with a truly happy voice, that I answered the phone when I saw a dear friend calling. We hadn’t spoken in far too long…but my ebullience was quickly muffled by the sound of his voice choking back tears as he told me the purpose of his call. It isn’t often, in our twenties and thirties, that a friend comes to pass; and so, natural as death is birth, it is always shocking and brutally painful. What struck me was how sudden our friend’s passing was, how unexpected, how unprepared everyone was for it. After we hung up, I couldn’t shake the thought that my number could be called at any time as well. Should that day come, I would be prepared.

This is where the Gratitude List was born – simply from realizing I didn’t want to die and leave anyone I had ever loved, liked, or learned from to not know that I appreciated them, how much they meant to me, and what they had done to change my life. I started out with the most obvious people to be grateful for: my family, my closest friends, and it wasn’t long before the List grew to include people I thought I had forgotten or had not forgiven.

The List had a life of its own and it had a huge heart. After only about thirty minutes of prolific typing, I had a ten page document beaming back at me. As I read through this List, the realization of how many people had been in my life and loved me, supported me, taught me – was so vast. And there were and still are so many others – I can add to it daily (if I had the devotion).  My heart began to expand with gratitude of a magnitude I can’t do justice with words. Another epiphany (please tell me you’re still reading – because this is why making this list is surprisingly profound) was that these very different people shared a common thread: integrity, genius creativity, generosity of spirit, kindness. Lucky me! Indeed, I am blessed, but I also know about the Law of Attraction. Like attracts Like. That which I value inside so many amazing people was that which is inside me. I can tell you now, this is when my self-esteem shot through the roof. I went from feeling life a life-flunkie, to recognizing I am supported, blessed, and awesome!

That’s a pretty ginormous revelation, a whole lotta heart expansion, and the beginning of enlightenment – all from making a List, and checking it twice. I want to know your Gratitude List stories. Please, please, pretty please, share your story here, email me, or comment on the Facebook page. And, if you haven’t made a List yet – your day will come. Maybe this post will inspire you. Here’s hoping.

With Love and Gratitude,

Tara

2 responses

  1. Beautiful! Reading this actually brought a few tears to my eyes…not something a Capricorn likes to admit, but it’s true. I’ve never thought of making a gratitude list but I really want to now. At times I worry about leaving the ones I love because I think, what if something happens to them while I’m gone and they might never know what I thought of them? That thought terrifies and saddens me. So..did you, or do you intend to, let those in the list read it? Will you ever tell them the things you wrote in your list?

    • Hi Nicole:

      Initially, I did intend to show everyone the list – I actually had a vision of this blog prior to this blog existing – and thought to post it. But it is quite personal. I have expressed my gratitude from the list to some of the people thus far, who I felt need most to hear it (the people who often think I value them least, or in their own lives are simply always going through hard times). A few times, I was quite inspired, and sent many people from the list text messages not expressly thanking them – but letting them know how absolutely amazing they are – and that they should walk through their day and their lives knowing it.

      So should you, dear Capricorn Nicole, walk through your life with the awareness of your intrinsic value and beautiful heart. Thank you so very much for sharing with me. Let me know how your list goes, or how it is that you find the way in your life to feel/express the gratitude that will open you heart, warm the spirits around you, and most importantly – remind you of the light inside you.

      Warmly,
      Tara

Leave a Reply

